Official Progetto Parco Nazionale del Locarnese logoOfficial National Park Project Candidate logo
 
 
 

The Project

Park Project

In 2000 the Locarno and Vallemaggia Region and the interested Communes petitioned for candidacy for a new Swiss National Park. The Park project had been identified as a hub for a series of initiatives committed to withstand and reverse the inexorable economic and demographic decline of the suburban Valleys of the "Locarnese" area and to promote their major asset: a unique landscape where nature majestically cohabitates with the thriving and pluricentenarian alpine culture.

Since its conception, the project has been geared toward developing an "anthropic park", where people are about, reside and work, instead of being simply a nature reserve, like the first and, so far, only Swiss National Park in the Engadin, based on completely dissimilar norms than those on which this project is based.

Objectives

Besides becoming a destination spot for enthusiastic visitors, nature lovers, school groups and researchers, the "Parco Nazionale del Locarnese" is intended to give a future perspective to its population. It will, therefore, act as a vessel for various initiatives prompted by the sustainable development principle and will represent a valid marketing instrument to promote both the territory and its products and services. The park project as it is conceived is in tune with the orientations of the new regional politics and represents the most important project for the "Locarnese" area from this perspective. 

The democratic procedure

The creation of a park follows a democratic procedure: the initiative must come from the interested communes, which must take charge of its strategic management and control in both the project and the management phases through the Park Council, which is formed in majority by their delegates and the delegates of the "Patriziati". In order to get the biggest number possible of public entities, associations and interested private entities involved in the decisional process, a series of thematic committees have been instituted. These committees are tasked with assessing and assembling all the necessary elements of the institution of the park. Upon completion of the detail planning phase, between the end of 2017 and the beginning of 2018, the citizens of the interested communes will be asked to vote on the Park Map. This will be the last mandatory step before obtaining the "National Park" label from the Swiss Confederation.

Logo ufficiale del Progetto Parco Nazionale del LocarneseLogo ufficiale di Candidato Progetto Parco Nazionale
 
 
 

Das Projekt

Das Projekt

Das Nationalparkprojekt

Im Jahr 2000 hat die Region «Locarnese e Vallemaggia» zusammen mit den interessierten Gemeinden beschlossen, ihre Kandidatur als neues Nationalparkprojekt einzureichen. Das Nationalparkprojekt wurde als Ausgangspunkt für eine Reihe von Initiativen identifiziert, die dem anhaltenden wirtschaftlichen und demografischen Rückgang in den Tälern im Randgebiet entgegenwirken und gleichzeitig ihren grössten Reichtum aufwerten sollten: ihre einzigartige Naturlandschaft, durchsetzt mit Denkmälern einer blühenden und jahrhundertealten alpinen Kultur.

Es war vom Anfang an klar, dass es sich bei diesem Projekt um einen teilweise besiedelten Naturpark handelt, in dem der Mensch lebt und arbeitet, im Gegensatz zu einem Naturreservat wie der Schweizerische Nationalpark im Engadin – der erste und bisher einzige Nationalpark der Schweiz – für welchen andere gesetzliche Vorgaben gelten als für das Nationalparkprojekt.

Ziele

Der zukünftige Nationalpark des Locarnese soll ein Reiseziel für interessierte Besucher, Naturfreunde, Schulen und Forscher werden. Gleichzeitig soll der Park seinen Bewohnern Zukunftsperspektiven verschaffen. Als Standort verschiedener Initiativen, die nach dem Prinzip der nachhaltigen Entwicklung konzipiert sind, wird der Park einen markanten Beitrag zur Förderung des Territoriums und dessen Produkte und Dienstleistungen leisten. Das Nationalparkprojekt des Locarnese setzt die Ziele der neuen Regionalpolitik konkret um. Es handelt sich in diesem Sinne um das zurzeit wichtigste Projekt in der Region «Locarnese e Vallemaggia».

Demokratischer Prozess

Die Schaffung eines Nationalparks ist mit einem demokratischen Prozess verbunden. Die Initiative muss von den interessierten Gemeinden ergriffen werden. Die Gemeinden sind sowohl in der Projektfase, als auch in der Betriebsfase für die strategische Leitung und die Kontrolle des Nationalparks zuständig. Zu diesem Zweck wurde ein Projektrat gebildet, der mehrheitlich aus Delegierten der Gemeinden und Patriziate besteht. Damit möglichst viele Körperschaften, Vereine und Private im Entscheidungsprozess miteinbezogen werden können, wurden zudem verschiedene thematische Kommissionen gebildet. Diese haben die Aufgabe, alle notwendigen Elemente für die Schaffung des Parks auszuwerten und umzusetzen. Nach Abschluss der Detailplanungsfase (vermutlich im 2018) werden die Bewohner der interessierten Gemeinden über die Landkarte des Nationalparkprojekts abstimmen. Dies ist die letzte obligatorische Etappe vor der Erteilung des Nationalpark-Labels seitens der Eidgenossenschaft.